Posted by: Jack Brown | November 6, 2012

Five Things About the Man I Voted For Today

As a rule, I don’t share my political convictions with many people. A pastor I used to work with suggested that those in ministry should play their political cards fairly close to their chest, and I agree with that sentiment. I would never want anyone to think that the person I vote for is the “right” choice for a Christian, or imply that people of faith should agree with me. I’m human, I’m fallible, and I vote the issues that are important for me personally, and yet I know many wonderful people of faith who disagree with my choices. And in the end, I pastor folks on both sides of the aisle, and that’s far too important a privilege for me to let politics hurt those relationships.

That said, I did vote today. And I want to tell you a little bit about the man I voted for for President of the United States.  This is as political as I will ever get on this blog, so enjoy it. 🙂

Here are five things I think are important to know about the man I voted for today:

  1. I believe with all my heart he wants what’s best for this country. His detractors claim this isn’t true.  There are countless posts and tweets and columns and blogs out there that would have you believe he is the devil in disguise, out to ruin this country and implement his own agenda that will destroy our nation. I refuse to believe that. I believe the welfare of this nation and its citizens are at the heart of his policies, and that he believes his vision to be what’s best for America’s future.
  2. Although he and I would have many disagreements regarding theology and religion, I believe his faith to be authentic and a central part of who he is.  And even though I come from a different faith perspective, I respect how his faith has informed his life and his policies.
  3. He is not perfect.  But neither am I.  He has said some things on the campaign trail that have really frustrated me, and at times angered me.  There have been times he has been in “politician mode” and I have been left shaking my head.  But then there have been times when the real person underneath shines through, and I have found that person remarkably appealing.
  4. I don’t agree with every policy he proposes.  But then again, I don’t expect to agree 100% with my President.
  5. Regardless of what happens today, I will be praying for him and his family that God will bless them and guide them and make himself known to them.  And I think we all would do well to pray for him, even if we voted for the other guy.

Think you know who it is?  Think you can figure out who I voted for? Before you draw any conclusions, let me share one last thought with you:

6.  Everything I said about the man I voted for, I would also say about the man I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

Categories

